Final Reflection

A final overview of my thoughts about the 3rd Year, Bangor University Bio Enterprise and Employability Module, its contents, associated seminars, and how it has influenced and shaped my future career path.


A Career in Research

Prior to undertaking not only the Bio Enterprise module but also my 3rd year Dissertation, I had never really thought about the idea of gaining a career in research. Since my first experience of a practical husbandry session at Reaseheath College Zoo, during my time there studying for an Extended Level 3 Diploma in Animal Management, I have aspired to work within the Zoo industry.

Since attending the seminars associated with this module, alongside various events I attended outside of university, my mind has been opened to the Research possibilities that are available within my chosen area of profession.


Enterprise

Chris Walker

Chris Walker:  International Business Innovation facilitator, consultant & coach.

In addition to my aspirations of becoming a Zoo Keeper, I also hope to eventually have my own Exotic Animal Rescue business. Certain aspects of this module have been greatly beneficial in expanding my knowledge of what is involved in starting a business and promoting that business in order to gain investors and status.

As a result of the Bio Enterprise module, Chris Walker, the lecturer for the business plan aspect of the module has offered to meet with me after I graduate and discuss my proposed business plan.

As a world renownd business consultant, it is a great opportunity to be able to seek his advice and I feel it will be extremely beneficial for me to have him as a contact in the future.


Twitter FeedSelling Yourself

The CV writing aspect of the module was probably the least beneficial to me personally. Having already written many CV’s over the years since the age of 15, I did not really learn anything from the experience. However, I do feel it was invaluable to many who had never written a CV or had to apply for a job before.

When it comes to the Social media side of the module, I cannot praise it enough. Despite being aware of the issues associated with social media when it comes to employment and being fairly savvy in regards to my privacy and security on social media platforms, I was completely new to the idea of improving my SERP presence and creating professional social media pages.

Since the start of the module I have created a professional Twitter Page and, utilising the blog aspect of the mosule, increased my SERP.


Networking

As previous mentioned I already have plans to meet with Chris Walker to discuss furture business plans, however, I also made various other connections throughout my time on this module.

Dr Shaun Russell the current Director of Treborth  Botanic Gardens, has provided me with his contact details should I ever wish him to look over any job applications I might make in the future for working for the Antarctic Survey.

I hope to get in touch with Russell Hill, from the Primate & Predator Project, South Africa, to discuss potential fieldwork opportunities after I graduate from university this July.

networking

Alongside my new network connections, I believe this module has strengthened my pre-existing network. Working closely with staff at Bangor University during the completion of module assessments and attendance of seminars, I feel I have furthered my connections with the likes of Christian Dunn, a Wetland Scientist and lecturer at Bangor, and Chris Freeman, founder of the company CELW Ltd. and the current Head of School for Biological Sciences at Bangor, both of whom lead the module, and other university staff including Dr Matt Hayward, Conservation Ecologist and senior lecturer in conservation at Bangor, who regularly attended the different seminars associated with the module.


reflection

There is no such thing as a bad experience: no matter the situation you will always gain something positive out of it.

Pro’s & Con’s

There were definite high and low points to the module, however, in my opinion, the highs greatly outnumbered the lows.

Pro’s
– Learnt valuable information about making myself more appealing to future employers,
– Enhanced my network by attending seminars and getting to know university staff at a new level,
– Created a professional Twitter page and Blog which I intend to continue with after the conclusion of the module,
– Gained an insight into the world of creating your own business,
– Increased my own personal confidence when it comes to networking and making the most of every opportunity,
– Increased my drive to achieve my goals and follow my future dreams.

Con’s
– Attending all the necessary seminars took a lot of time away from personal study,
– I found it difficult to fully participate in the Dragons’ Den ‘create a business’ aspect as the business my group chose was extremely close to the business I eventually hope to create and so I did not want to give too many of my ideas away,
– Despite being spread over both semesters all bar one of the deadlines were in semester 1, making the workload for that semester slightly heavy.


looking to the future

Looking to the Future: Having gaps in your career path does not matter, as long as you fill those gaps with something relevant to your end goal.

Looking to the Future

As I am due to graduate at the end of this academic year, I have naturally been reflecting a great deal on what my time at university has taught me, and what my future may hold.

When it comes to finding my career goals and starting my path towards them, I truly believe that the Bio Enterprise and Employability module has been a great asset to me.

The different componants of the module have helped me to clearly identify where I want my future career to take me, and opened me up to new possibilities and opportunities within my chosen field.

One of my favourite quotes from Dr Jackie Abell, the current Director of African Lion & Environmental Trust (ALERT), who delivered the “African Lions: Threats, Conflict & Mitigation” seminar, was:

“There is a place for everybody in wildlife conservation”

I feel this idea is strongly reinforced by a statement Dr Russell made regarding ecological projects:

“These days, for impact, you need to do more than just measure the biology, make it relevant to people.”

My long term ambition is to one day have directly or indirectly be the reason someone does what they do. As with many of my generation, my personal inspiration that got me involved with zoology and conservation was the likes of Steve Irwin and Sir David Attenborough. Watching their documentaries on TV growing up helped make me who I am today. If what I do can in turn inspire others I will truly have achieved my ultimate goal. The knowledge I have gained from taking part in the Bio Enterprise module are solid stepping stones in the path to that dream.

David quote.png
Written by Rebecca Snell

Leave a comment